DO THE DIGITAL REVOLUTION AND DEVELOPMENTS IN COMMUNICATION TECHNOLOGY AFFECT CONTEMPORARY ART?

Alexander Horwath


Österreichisches Filmmuseum

If we are to take the experiences of Modernism and its then new machine art seriously as an object lesson in history, we shouldn’t be looking for the “effects” of social media on contemporary art, but for cogent examples of the former in the latter. Where are the social media equivalents for August Sander’s photos, or for “Sherlock Jr.” by Buster Keaton?


Angelika Fitz


Architekturzentrum Wien

The increasing digitalization of society is changing both the production and utilization of architecture. On the one hand, this offers new possibilities, on the other, architecture is also experiencing outgrowths of surveillance capitalism.


Berthold Ecker


MUSA

One of the strongest driving forces of art is curiosity – the kick of discovering the world in the creative process. New technologies can also be seen as tools capable of accessing new areas of perception. As for the medium, it influences the outcome of what has been created with it, forming a new piece of the world, a new piece of art.


Bettina Leidl


KUNST HAUS WIEN

Technologization and digitization have a lasting impact on artistic processes. Art uses critical analysis and the playful appropriation of technological networks to make important contributions to awareness-building, and to the interpretation and communication of social and global questions. This ability of art to reveal new solutions and think off the beaten path are key considerations in the KUNST HAUS WIEN project “The Big Invisible” and its “Visions of Nature” exhibition.


Christian Strasser


Q21/MuseumsQuartier Wien

Art has always reflected current social developments and enabled us to observe the present age in a critical way. Young artists are preoccupied with social media because they grew up with them and regard them as their central hub of political, economic and artistic debates. This is why I think it is extremely important for MuseumsQuartier to be a platform to dock at for artistic presentation and discourse.


Christoph Thun-Hohenstein


MAK

If the world is radically changing through digital technologies such as robotics and artificial intelligence, we need art as Utopia. It has to liberate us from omnipotent algorithms and become the center of a new, humanist modernism.


Eva Blimlinger


Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

Art is art is (contemporary) art – with or without technical innovations, with or without digital technologies, with or without social media. Art changes all the time, with or without the so-called industry 4.0 or work 4.0.


Gerald Bast


Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

In an increasingly complex world where everything is connected we need more people who are capable of trans-disciplinary and holistic thought and action. Our way of life and work will change dramatically. Art, too, will strike new paths in terms of production and perception and will play a pivotal role.


Hans Knoll


DIE GALERIEN Verband österreichischer Galerien moderner Kunst

Visual art is seeing some interesting challenges and exciting subject areas emerge as a result of current changes. One could even imagine a re-positioning of art, as it is also basically capable of processing and storing information in an intelligent way.


Hans-Peter Wipplinger


Leopold Museum

“The medium is the message”: Marshal McLuhan’s notion that media are not only vehicles for our perception of the world but are actually instrumental in modulating it is still highly relevant in the age of social media. Issues of visual theory and cultural politics related to this notion are addressed by art in multiple ways.


Herwig Kempinger


Secession

New media are tools. They can be used perfectly and effectively, or unsatisfactorily and boringly. The relevance of an artwork is not defined by the tool used for its creation. What we need is a certain vigilant easygoingness.


Hubert Klocker


Sammlung Friedrichshof Stadtraum

Art and science create and act, while politics and religion react and control.


Karola Kraus


mumok Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien

Since art has always been a medium reflecting all processes of social change, contemporary art, too, reflects the immense influence of information and communication technologies on our society and uses them for its own purposes in a multitude of ways.


Klaus Albrecht Schröder


Albertina

For everyone devoted to art both as consumers or producers, the options for networking have become more diverse; museums have recognized the significance of social media. Digital developments will expand the exhibition experience of the future.


Martina Taig


KÖR Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Wien

It is often the case that social media simply transport pictures or the users’ subjective opinions. Ideas, contents and knowledge behind them thus get lost, often causing contemporary art to manifest itself in nonreflective, anonymous propagation of marketing-relevant hashtags and images.


Monika Pessler


Sigmund Freud Museum

Digital worlds are making the question of virtual reality seem more virulent than ever. Yet how our imagination of a subject affects the very same subject has been a matter of artistic debate since time immemorial and a subject of psychoanalysis for a long time.


Nicolaus Schafhausen


Kunsthalle Wien

The digital revolution is changing not only art but the totality of contemporary culture. Most notable is the fact that, because of this, the term “reality” must be redefined, updated and possibly even broadened to keep with the times.


Peter Bogner


Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung

Technical innovations are always adopted into the current canon of means of expression in contemporary art. In fact it is in art more than in other disciplines that new media are tested and validated as to their social significance for the future.


Peter Zawrel


Künstlerhaus 1050

art = change = groundbreaking = media-related = reflective = social = communication = revolution = effect = impact, and it has been ever since the stone age. so the question to ask is: what effects does art have on the n-th (post)industrial (r)evolution?


Sabine Haag


Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

In our digitalized and globally networked world contents and information are seemingly equally accessible to everyone. But what effect does this “pseudo-democratization” have on our society in times of fake news and information bubbles? This is an intriguing question for us all, and contemporary art plays a major role in answering them.


Stella Rollig


Belvedere

Every social development affects art – hence the new media as well. The exciting aspect here is that we don’t know how this is going to turn out in the end, because we are right in the middle of the transformation process.



Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Haben digitaler Wandel und Entwicklungen in der Kommunikationstechnologie Auswirkungen auf die Gegenwartskunst?

Alexander Horwath


Österreichisches Filmmuseum

Nimmt man, als historisches Lehrstück, die Erfahrungen der Moderne mit ihren damals neuen Maschinenkünsten wirklich ernst, dann sollte man in der Gegenwartskunst nicht »Auswirkungen« der Sozialen Medien suchen, sondern in Letzteren zwingende Beispiele für Ersteres. Wo sind die Social-Media-Äquivalente zu August Sanders Fotos oder »Sherlock jr.« von Buster Keaton?


Angelika Fitz


Architekturzentrum Wien

Die zunehmende Digitalisierung der Gesellschaft verändert sowohl die Produktion als auch die Nutzung von Architektur. Das bietet einerseits neue Möglichkeiten, andererseits zeigen sich auch in der Architektur die Auswüchse eines Überwachungskapitalismus.


Berthold Ecker


MUSA

Eine der stärksten Triebfedern der Kunst ist die Neugier – die Lust an der Erforschung der Welt im kreativen Schaffensprozess. Neue Technologien sind auch als Werkzeuge zu sehen, die neue Areale der Wahrnehmung erschließen können. Das Medium wiederum beeinflusst das Ergebnis des mit ihm Geschaffenen; ein neues Stück Welt – ein neues Stück Kunst – entsteht.


Bettina Leidl


KUNST HAUS WIEN

Technologisierung und Digitalisierung verändern künstlerische Prozesse nachhaltig. Durch kritische Analyse und spielerische Aneignung technologischer Netzwerke liefert die Kunst einen wichtigen Beitrag in der Bewusstseinsschaffung, in Interpretation und Kommunikation von gesellschaftlichen und globalen Fragen. Die Fähigkeit der Kunst, neue Lösungsansätze aufzuzeigen und außerhalb gewohnter Bahnen zu denken, kommt bei dem Projekt »The Big Invisible« und der Ausstellung »Visions of Nature« im KUNST HAUS WIEN zum Tragen.


Christian Strasser


Q21/MuseumsQuartier Wien

Kunst spiegelt seit jeher aktuelle gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen wider und erlaubt es, die Gegenwart kritisch zu betrachten. Soziale Medien beschäftigen junge Kunstschaffende, weil sie damit aufgewachsen sind und weil diese der zentrale Ort politischer, ökonomischer und auch künstlerischer Debatten sind. Ich halte es in diesem Kontext für enorm wichtig, dass das MuseumsQuartier ein Ort ist, der Kunstschaffenden und ihren Diskursen eine Plattform zur Präsentation und zum Andocken bietet.


Christoph Thun-Hohenstein


MAK

Wenn sich die Welt durch digitale Technologien wie Robotik und künstliche Intelligenz radikal verändert, brauchen wir die Kunst als Utopie. Sie muss uns der Allmacht der Algorithmen entziehen und zum Zentrum einer neuen humanistischen Moderne werden.


Eva Blimlinger


Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien Kunst ist Kunst ist (Gegenwarts-)Kunst – ob mit technischen Innovationen oder ohne, ob mit digitalen Technologien oder ohne, ob mit und durch Soziale Medien oder ohne. Die Kunst verändert sich immer, ob mit oder ohne sogenannte Industrie 4.0 oder Arbeit 4.0.


Gerald Bast


Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien

In einer immer komplexeren Welt, in der alles mit allem zusammenhängt, benötigen wir mehr Menschen, die zum disziplinenübergreifenden holistischen Denken und Handeln fähig sind. Unsere Art zu leben und zu arbeiten wird sich dramatisch verändern. Und auch die Kunst wird in Produktion und Rezeption völlig neue Wege gehen und eine zentrale Rolle spielen.


Hans Knoll


DIE GALERIEN Verband österreichischer Galerien moderner Kunst

Für die bildende Kunst ergeben sich durch die aktuellen Veränderungen interessante Herausforderungen und spannende Themenfelder. Auch eine neue Positionierung der Kunst wird denkbar, ist sie doch grundsätzlich fähig, auf intelligente Weise Informationen zu verarbeiten und zu speichern.


Hans-Peter Wipplinger


Leopold Museum

»The medium is the message«: Marshall McLuhans Erkenntnis, dass Medien die Wahrnehmung der Welt nicht nur vermitteln, sondern entscheidend mitmodulieren, hat auch im Zeitalter der Sozialen Medien noch hohe Relevanz. Den damit implizierten bildtheoretischen wie kulturpolitischen Fragestellungen widmet sich die Kunst auf vielfältige Weise.


Herwig Kempinger


Secession

Neue Medien sind Werkzeuge. Als solche erlauben sie es, manches perfekt und effektiv zu erledigen und anderes unzulänglich und langwierig. Die Relevanz eines Kunstwerks definiert sich nicht durch das verwendete Werkzeug. Eine gewisse aufmerksame Gelassenheit wäre angebracht.


Hubert Klocker


Sammlung Friedrichshof Stadtraum

Kunst und Wissenschaft kreieren und agieren, Politik und Religion reagieren und kontrollieren.


Karola Kraus


mumok Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien

Da Kunst von jeher als Reflexionsmedium für alle gesellschaftlichen Veränderungsprozesse dient, spiegelt auch die Gegenwartskunst den immensen Einfluss von Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik auf unsere Gesellschaft wider und bedient sich ihrer auf unterschiedlichste Weise.


Klaus Albrecht Schröder


Albertina

Für Kunstinteressierte und Kunstschaffende sind die Möglichkeiten zur Vernetzung vielfältiger geworden, Museen haben die Bedeutung der Sozialen Medien erkannt. Durch digitale Entwicklungen wird das Ausstellungserlebnis künftig erweitert.


Martina Taig


KÖR Kunst im öffentlichen Raum Wien

Soziale Medien transportieren häufig nur Abbilder oder die subjektive Meinung der Benutzerinnen und Benutzer. Gedanken, Inhalte und Wissen, die dahinterstehen, gehen solcherart verloren, wodurch sich die Gegenwartskunst wiederholt in einer unreflektierten anonymen Verbreitung von marketingrelevanten Hashtags und Bildern manifestiert.


Monika Pessler


Sigmund Freud Museum

Digitale Welten lassen heute die Frage nach der Realität des Virtuellen virulenter denn je erscheinen. Wie aber die bloße Vorstellung eines Subjekts auf dieses einwirkt, ist in den Künsten seit jeher und in der Psychoanalyse seit Langem Verhandlungsthema.


Nicolaus Schafhausen


Kunsthalle Wien

Der digitale Wandel verändert die gesamte Gegenwartskultur, nicht nur die Kunst. Spannend ist vor allem die Tatsache, dass dadurch die Definition des Begriffes »Realität« einer Aktualisierung und eventuell sogar einer zeitgemäßen Erweiterung unterzogen werden muss.


Peter Bogner


Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung

Technische Innovationen werden in der aktuellen Kunst stets in den gebräuchlichen Kanon der Möglichkeiten des künstlerischen Ausdrucks aufgenommen. Gerade im Bereich der Künste erfolgen oft auch die Erprobung und die Bewährung des neuen Mediums sowie überhaupt die Überprüfung von dessen gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung für die Zukunft.


Peter Zawrel


Künstlerhaus 1050

kunst = veränderung = innovativ = medial = reflektierend = sozial = kommunikation = revolution = auswirkung = einwirkung, und das von der steinzeit bis heute. daher lautet die frage: welche auswirkungen hat die kunst auf die n-te (post-)industrielle (r)evolution?


Sabine Haag


Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien

In unserer digitalisierten und global vernetzten Welt ist der Zugang zu Inhalten und zu Information scheinbar allen gleichermaßen möglich. Doch wie wirkt sich diese »Schein­demokratisierung« in Zeiten von Fake News und Information Bubbles auf unsere Gesellschaft aus? Spannende Fragen für uns alle, bei deren Beantwortung der zeitgenössischen Kunst eine wichtige Rolle zukommt.


Stella Rollig


Belvedere

Jede gesellschaftliche Entwicklung hat Auswirkungen auf die Kunst – so auch die Neuen Medien. Das Spannende daran ist, dass wir noch nicht wissen, wie diese letztendlich aus­sehen werden, weil wir uns mitten im Prozess der Transformation befinden.



Share your selection:
Add event to selection