Event

Finissage: Clemens Krauss - "Unknowing"

With the title "Unknowing" (Nichtwissen), Clemens Krauss refers to a phenomenon that is again increasingly affecting society and politics: the "belief to know", which is placed above the actual "knowledge", and thus the "ignorance" to the categorical Imperative and determining factor of doing, acting and refraining.

Krauss approaches this phenomenon in three ways in the exhibition: On the one hand, he specifically addresses it in pasty oil paintings, in which he shows individuals, groups of people or animals from disturbing, unusual perspectives, whereby the observer never knows exactly what, and above all, of where he sees something. Second, he explores the "belief in knowing" in controversial video works using film and video recordings from his own youth. Thirdly, he infuses the knowledge-non-knowledge dynamic into the realization of the exhibition itself: at the beginning of the exhibition, only a few works are completed.

In an extra room of the gallery, Clemens Krauss, who completed his training as a psychoanalyst in addition to his art studies, received visitors for five weeks for therapy sessions. He continuously processes the impressions he has gained in new works.

The result is a large, space-related work, which consists of various, reflecting the subjekive knowledge of the visitors and the artist elements and is complete only on the last day of the exhibition.

Clemens Krauss was born in Graz in 1981 and has been living in Berlin since 2003. Although he is only 36 years old, he can already look back on a considerable number of institutional solo and group exhibitions, including in Sydney, Shanghai, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Tel Aviv, Seoul, Montreal, Johannesburg, London, Paris, Stockholm , Berlin and Istanbul.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Finissage Clemens Krauss „Nichtwissen“

Mit dem Titel „Nichtwissen“ bezieht sich Clemens Krauss auf ein Phänomen, das wieder zunehmend die Gesellschaft und die Politik erfaßt: Den „Glauben, zu wissen“, der über das tatsächliche „Wissen“ gestellt wird, und somit das „Nichtwissen“ zum kategorischen Imperativ und bestimmenden Faktor allen Tuns, Handelns und Unterlassens macht.

Diesem Phänomen nähert sich Krauss in der Ausstellung auf dreierlei Weise: Zum einen thematisiert er es ganz konkret in pastosen Ölmalereien, in denen er Einzelpersonen, Menschengruppen oder Tiere aus verstörenden, ungewöhnlichen Perspektiven zeigt, wodurch der Betrachter nie genau weiß, was und vor allem von wo er etwas sieht. Zum Zweiten ergründet er den „Glauben, zu wissen“ in kontroversen Videoarbeiten, in denen er Film- und Videoaufnahmen aus seiner eigenen Jugend verwendet. Zum Dritten lässt er die Wissen-Nichtwissen-Dynamik in das Zustandekommen der Ausstellung selbst einfließen: Zu Beginn der Ausstellung sind lediglich einige Arbeiten fertig.

In einem Extraraum der Galerie empfing Clemens Krauss, der neben seinem Kunststudium eine Ausbildung als Psychoanalytiker abgeschlossen hat, fünf Wochen lang Besucher zu Therapiesitzungen. Die dabei gewonnenen Eindrücke verarbeitet er laufend in neuen Arbeiten.

Es entstand ein großes, raumbezogenes Werk, das aus verschiedensten, das subjekive Wissen der Besucher und des Künstlers wiederspiegelnden Elementen besteht und erst am letzten Tag der Ausstellung komplett ist.

Clemens Krauss wurde 1981 in Graz geboren und lebt seit 2003 in Berlin. Obwohl er erst 36 Jahre alt ist, kann er bereits auf eine beachtliche Anzahl institutioneller Einzel- und Gruppenausstellungen zurückblicken, unter anderem in Sydney, Shanghai, Sao Paulo, Rio de Janeiro, Tel Aviv, Seoul, Montreal, Johannesburg, London, Paris, Stockholm, Berlin und Istanbul.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection