Event

Screening/Talk: "Landmarks, Influences, Correspondences: Argentine Experimental Cinema 1965–2016"

Jorge Honik & Laura Abel, El Inmortal (1968)

With films by Claudio Caldini (b. 1952, Buenos Aires) and Pablo Marín (b. 1982, Buenos Aires), the Austrian Film Museum presents two generations of Argentinean avant-garde filmmaking that began in the mid-1960s and went almost unnoticed in Austria until now. The work shows a high degree of autonomy despite prominent references to the avant-garde traditions of the 1920s and New American Cinema, oscillating between the poles of poetry and structural film.

This is evident in the works of Caldini and Marín, who share a mentor–protégé relationship and whose combined work spans the time from when this type of filmmaking began up to the present day. One thing they have in common is their concentrated work with the 8-mm format, a medium they have perfected while taking different stylistic directions. Both artists’ films are characterized by a radical reduction of means, enabled by a rigorous technical mastery of the medium that taps its aesthetic potential without ever seeming contrived or constructed. Caldini and Marín’s films have a loose, incidental and also hypnotic quality that draws on the material substance of film without constantly referencing it.

Both artists play a dual role in this show. Marín through his works and his curatorial engagement, which has helped to make independent film in Argentina more understandable and visible at the international level. Caldini’s film work is shown in conjunction with a performance that once again underscores the “live element” that rests at the heart of all these works – most were screened in the presence of the filmmakers, who operated the projector themselves.

The project is a cooperation between the Austrian Film Museum with sixpackfilm and the Friedl Kubelka School for Independent Film with friendly support of the Embassy of the Argentinian Republic.

Film screening and talk with Pablo Marín


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Filmschau/Gespräch: "Landmarks, Influences, Correspondences: Argentine Experimental Cinema 1965–2016"

Jorge Honik & Laura Abel, El Inmortal (1968)

Andrés Levinson Intemperie en Chapicuy (2013) 8mm, Farbe, 7 min
Horacio Vallereggio Y ésta loca quién es? (1970) 8mm, Farbe und s/w, 5 min
Jorge Honik & Laura Abel El inmortal (1968) Super 8, Farbe, 7 min
Sergio Subero Espectro (2010) Super 8, Farbe, 9 min
Benjamin Ellenberger s/t (2015) Super 8, s/w, 5 min
Luis Bras Toc toc … toc (1965) Super 8, s/w, 3 min
Ignacio Tamarit Triplete PLástico (2015) 16mm, Farbe und s/w, 2 min
Ernesto Baca Locomoción (2016) 35mm, Farbe, 4 min
Narcisa Hirsch Come Out (1970) 35mm, Farbe, 10 min
Pablo Mazzolo Fotooxidación (2013) 16mm, Farbe, 13 min

Einführung und im Anschluss Gespräch mit Claudio Caldini & Pablo Marín

Mit den Filmen von Claudio Caldini (geb. 1952, Buenos Aires) und Pablo Marín (geb. 1982, Buenos Aires) präsentiert das Österreichische Filmmuseum zwei Generationen des argentinischen Avantgarde-Filmschaffens, das Mitte der 1960er-Jahre seinen Anfang nahm und bei uns bisher kaum wahrgenommen wurde. Es weist starke Bezüge zu den Avantgarde-Traditionen der 1920er und zum New American Cinema auf, zeigt zwischen den Polen des lyrischen und des strukturellen Films aber große Eigenständigkeit.

Sehr deutlich wird das an den Arbeiten von Caldini und Marín , die zusammen die zeitliche Spanne dieses Filmschaffens bis in die Gegenwart abdecken und zudem in einem Mentor-Schüler-Verhältnis stehen. Gemeinsam ist ihnen die konzentrierte Arbeit mit dem 8-mm-Format, das sie in unterschiedlichen Stilrichtungen perfektioniert haben. Ihre Filme zeichnen sich durch eine radikale Reduktion der Mittel aus, die durch die rigorose technische Beherrschung des Mediums dessen ästhetische Potenziale hervorbringen, ohne dabei je konstruiert oder gebaut zu wirken. Im Gegenteil: Caldinis und Maríns Filme erzeugen etwas Freies, Beiläufiges und zugleich Hypnotisches, das zwar dem Material entspringt, aber nicht ständig darauf verweist.

Beide Künstler spielen in dieser Schau eine Doppelrolle. Marín durch seine Werke und seine kuratorische Arbeit, die dazu beigetragen hat, dass das unabhängige Filmschaffen Argentiniens besser aufgearbeitet und international sichtbarer wurde. Caldinis Arbeit wird nebst den Filmen auch über eine Performance sichtbar, die das »Live-Element«, das im Kern all dieser Werke verborgen liegt, noch einmal sichtbar macht – sie wurden zumeist in Anwesenheit der Filmemacher und von ihnen selbst projiziert.

Die beiden Abende finden in Kooperation mit sixpackfilm und der Schule Friedl Kubelka für unabhängigen Film und mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Botschaft der Argentinischen Republik statt.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection