Event

Curator gives a tour of the exhibition »Related to Visions«

with Peter Bogner
refreshments served afterwards

Exactly 20 years ago the Austrian Frederick and Lillian Kiesler Private Foundation was established, and the estate of the visionary all-round artist Frederick Kiesler (1890–1965) brought to Vienna. Ever since, the foundation has researched and presented Kiesler’s legacy in countless projects. Most recently, major solo exhibitions were on show at the Vienna MAK and the Martin Gropius Building in Berlin, which familiarized the broad public with the multifaceted œuvre.

The Austrian Frederick Kiesler Prize for Architecture and Art was initiated at the same time as the Frederick Kiesler Foundation. On the initiative of his widow Lillian Kiesler, the award has been presented biannually since 1998 for “outstanding achievements in the field of architecture and the arts that conform to Frederick Kiesler’s innovative conceptions and his theory of ‘correlated arts,’ by transcending the boundaries between the traditional disciplines of architecture and the arts.” The Frederick Kiesler Prize is worth 55,000 euros and presented alternately by the Republic of Austria and the City of Vienna.

In order to pay worthy tribute to both events – the 20th anniversary of the existence of the Frederick Kiesler Foundation and the 10th Frederick Kiesler Prize – a studio exhibition is juxtaposing ten works by Kiesler prizewinners with works by Frederick Kiesler. Former Kiesler prizewinners include Frank O. Gehry (1998), Judith Barry (2000), Cedric Price (2002), Asymptote / Hani Rashid + Lise-Anne Couture (2004), Olafur Eliasson (2006), Toyo Ito (2008), Heimo Zobernig (2010), Andrea Zittel (2012), Bruce Nauman (2014) and Andrés Jaque (2016). The next laureate will be announced in 2018.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Kuratorenführung durch die Ausstellung »Related to Visions«

mit Peter Bogner
anschließend Erfrischungen

Vor genau 20 Jahren wurde die Österreichische Friedrich und Lillian Kiesler-Privatstiftung gegründet und der Nachlass des visionären Allroundkünstlers Friedrich Kiesler (1890–1965) nach Wien geholt. Seither bewahrt, erforscht und präsentiert die Stiftung Kieslers Erbe in unzähligen Projekten. Zuletzt waren große Personalen im Wiener MAK und im Berliner Martin-Gropius-Bau zu sehen, die das vielseitige Œuvre einer breiten Öffentlichkeit näherbrachten.

Gleichzeitig mit der Friedrich Kiesler Stiftung wurde der Österreichische Friedrich Kiesler-Preis für Architektur und Kunst ins Leben gerufen. Auf Initiative der Witwe Lillian Kiesler wird die Auszeichnung seit 1998 alle zwei Jahre für »hervorragende Leistungen im Bereich der Architektur und der Künste« verliehen, »die den innovativen Auffassungen Friedrich Kieslers und seiner Theorie der ‚correlated arts‘ entsprechen, in jenem grenzüberschreitenden Sinn, der die etablierten Disziplinen der Architektur und der Künste verbindet«. Der Friedrich Kiesler-Preis ist mit 55.000 Euro dotiert und wird abwechselnd von der Republik Österreich und der Stadt Wien vergeben.

Um beide Anlässe – das 20-jährige Bestehen der Friedrich Kiesler Stiftung und den zehnten Friedrich Kiesler-Preis – gebührend zu würdigen, stellt eine Studio-Ausstellung zehn Arbeiten der Kiesler-Preisträgerinnen und -Preisträger ausgewählten Werken Friedrich Kieslers gegenüber. Die bisherigen Kiesler-Preisträger sind: Frank O. Gehry (1998), Judith Barry (2000), Cedric Price (2002), Asymp­tote / Hani Rashid + Lise-Anne Couture (2004), Olafur Eliasson (2006), Toyo Ito (2008), Heimo Zobernig (2010), Andrea Zittel (2012), Bruce Nauman (2014) und Andrés Jaque (2016).

2018 wird der nächste Preisträger bzw. die nächste Preisträgerin bekanntgegeben.

Kuratiert von: Peter Bogner


Share your selection:
Add event to selection