Event

Celebration: »10 years in office: das weisse haus.«

Markus Hanakam & Roswitha Schuller, La Tarte Esterhazy, 2011 / Foto: Max Hochstätter

»10 years in office: das weisse haus. Decade review & future view, including coffee and (t)art«

It has already lodged in a butcher’s shop, on a business floor, in tax authority offices, and is presently housed in a school. das weisse haus has organized exhibitions in six venues throughout the city; fostered “studio das weisse haus,” an artist-in-residence program with studios for local artists; been one of the first institutions in Vienna to include curators and cultural journalists in its program; established the Erst Bank ExtraVALUE Art Award in cooperation with the Austrian Cultural Forum (ACF) New York and the Erste Group; and entertained cooperative ventures with national and international universities and cultural institutions.

In ten years’ work for the arts, “white houses” have had countless floors scrubbed, roofs polished, walls pulled down, whole façades artistically dismantled and have shown the works of around 550 national and international artists. das weisse haus and the team around Alexandra Grausam have seen a great deal, opened a great deal, come up against limits and yet have developed unequivocally into one of the most vibrant locations in the city, a platform for mostly young artists who as yet have no gallery backing them, or are rarely shown here.

And now? The decade review is being unreservedly declared a constructive future view, and everyone is invited to a public brainstorming session: “What would I like from the ‘white house’?” is the question. Anyone who has something to say should call round, pre-party and think ahead – there’s coffee and (t)art by Hanakam & Schuller and a whole stack of empty post-its for ideas.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Fest: »10 Jahre im Amt: das weisse haus«

Markus Hanakam & Roswitha Schuller, La Tarte Esterhazy, 2011 / Foto: Max Hochstätter

»10 Jahre im Amt: das weisse haus. Dekaden-Rückblick & Zukunfts-Aussicht samt Kaffee und Kunst-Torte«

Es logierte bereits in einer Fleischerei, einer Business-Etage, in den Amtsstuben eines Finanzamts und ist derzeit in einer Schule zu Hause. Quer durch die Stadt hat das weisse haus Ausstellungen an sechs Stationen gezeigt, mit »studio das weisse haus« ein Artist-in-Residence-Programm sowie Ateliers für lokale Kunstschaffende aufgezogen, als eine der ersten Institutionen Wiens den Austausch von Kuratoren und Kultur-Journalisten ins Programm genommen, in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Austrian Cultural Forum (ACF) New York und der Erste Group den Erste Bank MehrWERT Kunstpreis sowie außerdem Kooperationen mit nationalen wie internationalen Universitäten und Kultur­institutionen etabliert.

In zehn Jahren Arbeit für die Kunst wurden in den »weissen häusern« jede Menge Böden geschrubbt, Dächer poliert, Wände eingerissen, ganze Fassaden künstlerisch demontiert und Positionen von rund 550 nationalen und internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern gezeigt. Das weisse haus und das Team um Alexandra Grausam haben viel gesehen, viel eröffnet, Grenzen kennengelernt und sich dabei zweifelsfrei zu einer der umtriebigsten Locations der Stadt entwickelt – einer Plattform für meist junge Kunstschaffende, die noch keine Galerie hinter sich haben oder hierzulande kaum gezeigt wurden.

Und nun? Den Dekaden-Rückblick erklärt man freimütig zur konstruktiven Zukunfts-Aussicht und lädt zum öffentlichen Brainstorming: »Was wünsche ich mir vom weissen haus?« ist die Frage. Wer dazu etwas zu sagen hat, sollte zum Vorfeiern und Weiterdenken vorbeischauen – es gibt Kunst, Kaffee und Torte von Hanakam & Schuller sowie jede Menge leerer Ideen-Post-its.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection