Event

Exhibition: R. H. Quaytman and Olga Chernysheva

R. H. Quaytman, Chapter 31, 2016 Courtesy the artist

R. H. Quaytman
The paintings of American artist Rebecca H. Quaytman are mysterious, poetic and personal. Her works center around painting and the intention to both maintain and question the symbolic and historical space of this medium and its capacity for absolute presence.
Rebecca H. Quaytman will create a new group of works for her exhibition at the Secession. Her point of departure is “The Persian Women” by Flemish painter Otto van Veen (1556–1629) from the collection of the Kunsthistorisches Museum Wien, which will be shown in dialogue with her works.

Olga Chernysheva
Russian artist Olga Chernysheva works with a variety of media, including drawing, painting, photography, video and very short essays combined with frozen or moving images. Her work rests on precise observation of the world she lives in. She joins a long tradition of social realism in Russian culture – not to be confused with the socialist realism that was the official artistic doctrine of the USSR – and of a type of art that tells stories with critical empathy but can be experimental and technically advanced.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection

Event

Ausstellungen: R. H. Quaytman und Olga Chernysheva

R. H. Quaytman, Chapter 31, 2016 Courtesy die Künstlerin

R. H. Quaytman
Die Bilder der amerikanischen Künstlerin Rebecca H. Quaytman sind rätselhaft, poetisch und persönlich. Im Mittelpunkt ihres Werkes stehen die Malerei und die Intention, den symbolischen wie historischen Raum dieses Mediums und seine Fähigkeit zur absoluten Präsenz gleichermaßen zu erhalten wie zu hinterfragen.

Für ihre Ausstellung in der Secession wird Rebecca H. Quaytman eine neue Werkgruppe entwickeln. Ausgangspunkt ist das Gemälde »Die Perserinnen« des Flamen Otto van Veen (1556–1629) aus der Sammlung des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien, das im Dialog mit ihren Arbeiten gezeigt wird.

Olga Chernysheva
Die russische Künstlerin Olga Chernysheva arbeitet in verschiedenen Medien, darunter Zeichnung, Malerei, Fotografie, Video und äußerst knappe Essays in Verbindung mit Stand- oder Bewegtbildern. Ihr Werk beruht auf einer genauen Beobachtung ihrer Lebenswelt. Sie steht damit in der langen Tradition des sozialen Realismus in der russischen Kultur – nicht zu verwechseln mit dem sozialistischen Realismus, wie er in der UdSSR offizielle künstlerische Doktrin war – und einer Kunst, die in kritischer Anteilnahme Geschichten erzählt, dabei aber durchaus formal avanciert und experimentell sein kann.


Share your selection:
Add event to selection